SQRL and subdomains

eplossl

Dec 13, 2019
Ok, so I know I'm new to this and I likely have missed reading something that might answer my question here. That said, if I have, please feel free to refer me to the appropriate documentation and tell me to go RTFM.

I have a fan organization of which I am a part which has a homebrew membership database that we have written. We have also built it to be an OAuth provider for other subdomains on the same root domain so that we can use one password to log into the org membership database, the org forums, the org moodle instance, etc. Shortly after the launch party stream, I reached out to the head developer for the database (I'm part of the dev team as well), and suggested that we look into adding SQRL support for anyone interested in using it. He's concerned about a couple of things:

1. how hard will it be to add this support (I think not very, we just need to implement an SQRL server in our environment)
2. How can we then use it to provide login access to forums.group.org as well as database.group.org, and otherthing.group.org?

I may be misunderstanding how this works, but I think that I understand that SQRL has a different key for sub1.domain.com than it would have for sub2.domain.com & etc. Or can I have a key for domain.com that works for sub1.domain.com as well as sub2.domain.com, without any further ado? Since we are using OAuth now, would we likely have to do something strange to allow for the forums/etc. to validate login stuff for users attempting to connect?

If this is clear as mud, please let me know and I'll clarify a bit, as I feel muddled at the moment by my own words...

PHolder

May 19, 2018